The House system at Red House is a traditional feature of our School. The word ‘House’ refers only to a grouping of pupils, rather than to a particular building. Pupils are divided into one of three houses, namely Ragworth, Whorlton, and Castle.

The House system exists to provide a system for friendly competition between pupils. Many sports events including school sports day are run as inter-house competitions. Red marks for academic achievement are also totalled up for comparison between houses.

Pupils are assigned to houses on entrance to the School. Traditionally, however, once a pupil has been assigned to a house, any younger siblings he or she has may automatically become members of that house.